Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

e-Symposium by Rutgers University & Democritus University: Substance Use in the U.S.A. and Greece

March 10 @ 11:00 am - 2:00 pm EST

The third e-symposium will be hosted in collaboration with one of our institutional partners in Greece, Democritus University of Thrace. The event will focus on “Substance Use in Greece and the U.S.A.: Underlying Mechanisms, Usage Patterns, Treatment, and Policy,” and will take place in two parts from 11 am to 2 pm ET on Thursday, March 10, 2022.

The e-symposium will feature speakers from Rutgers and Democritus University, including Dr. Itzhak Yanovitzky (SC&I), Dr. Suchismita Ray (SHP), and Dr. Petros Levounis (RNJMS). RBHS Chancellor Dr. Brian Strom and Democritus University’s Rector, Dr. Alexandros Polychronidis, will offer opening remarks.

RSVP to event PDF flyer for event

 

AGENDA

OPENING REMARKS (11:00 – 11:20 am ET / 18:00 – 18:20 in Greece)

Alexandros Polychronidis, MD, Rector, Democritus University of Thrace
Brian Strom, MD, MPH, Inaugural Chancellor of Rutgers Biomedical and Health Sciences
Michael Koukourakis, MD, Professor and Chair, Department of Radiotherapy & Oncology, School of Medicine, Democritus University of Thrace

SESSION 1 (11:20 am – 12:20 pm ET / 18:20-19:20 in Greece)

Session Chairs

Riva Touger-Decker, PhD, RD, Associate Dean of Global Affairs; Professor, School of Health Professions; and Professor, Rutgers School of Dental Medicine
Aikaterini Alexiou-Chatzaki, PhD, Professor of Pharmacology, School of Medicine, Democritus University of Thrace; Director, Agri-Health Institute, Hellenic Mediterranean University

Presentations

Neurocognitive Mechanisms Underlying Opioid Addiction
Suchismita Ray, PhD, Associate Professor, Health Informatics, School of Health Professions, Rutgers University

Pharmacological Treatments for Opioid Use Disorder
Petros Levounis, MD, MA, Professor & Chair, Department of Psychiatry, New Jersey Medical School, Rutgers University

Use of Novel Psychoactive Substances (NPS) of Natural Origin: A Survey
Elena Deligianni, PhD Candidate, MA, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki & University of Hertfordshire
Christos Kontogiorgis, PhD, Assistant Professor, Laboratory of Hygiene & Environmental Protection, School of Medicine, Democritus University of Thrace

~ Brief Break ~

SESSION 2 (12:30 pm – 1:10 pm ET / 19:30 – 20:10 in Greece)

Session Chairs

Matthew Matsaganis, PhD, Associate Professor, School of Communication & Information, Rutgers University
Christos Detsaridis, PhD, Associate Professor, School of Law, Democritus University of Thrace

Presentations

Policy on Opioids & Psychoactives
Evangelia Nena, MD, PhD, Associate Professor, School of Medicine, Democritus University of Thrace

Opioid Crisis: Before and During the COVID-19 Pandemic: The Challenges to Public Health
Itzhak Yanovitzky, PhD, Professor and Chair of Health & Wellness Cluster, School of Communication & Information, Rutgers University

DISCUSSION (1:10 – 1:40 pm ET / 20:10 – 20:40 in Greece)

CLOSING REMARKS (1:40 – 1:50 pm ET / 20:40 – 20:50 in Greece)

Please note:

Certificate of Participation will be provided to all registered participants in the event who express interest in receiving one. Participants will be able to indicate their interest right after the event.

Details

Date:
March 10
Time:
11:00 am - 2:00 pm EST

Venue

Online